top of page
Search
Writer's pictureVictoria Micola

The Evaluation

What’s the process to get on the list? There are a lot of moving parts, the most crucial part is your team. My team consists of 4 people I’m in constant contact with, but I’ve met so many new people who have just done my exams alone. The tests needed are as follows; upper endoscopy, colonoscopy, dental clearance, Pap smear (for women) and mammogram (for women). I also got a stress test, MRI, CT scan, a breathing test and echocardiogram. Bloodwork is required monthly for me but it is different for everyone.  After all of the testing is completed they send your case up to the board. The board gets to decide whether or not you are a candidate for an organ donation. Furthermore, if you are approved they tell you what kind of donation you can receive (keep in mind the liver is the only regrowing organ). Livers are one of few organs you can get from a living donor. As silly as it sounds, you want to be in your best health for your situation as you can be for the transplant to go well. For the best results I’ve had to make changes to my life, one big change has been my diet. I have not been perfect by any means, but I truly want to put my best effort in since I got approved. My team connected me with one of the dietitians they have in the unit, so I’m doing a low sodium diet but high in protein! I need to stay strong and healthy to the best of my abilities. I’ve been approved but we’ve got a long road ahead!

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Truth Be Told

How do I know everything is going to be okay, from the beginning all the way till the end? Let me tell you something about faith, it’s...

Life Updates

I know I haven’t posted in a while and I truly felt like things were really just coasting and not much to update on. Then before I knew...

Let’s Roam

As I continue on my path to recovery we are also inching closer to the fundraiser. Amazing donations are being sent our way from all over...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page