top of page
Search
Writer's pictureVictoria Micola

Support System

During these trying times a support system is needed. Whether it be family or a group that you join. Some of us don’t have families around to be there for us, so I encourage you to seek out people who you can relate with. There are many groups on Facebook that you can look up who have exactly what you are looking for or you can look into separate communities outside of Facebook and join those as well. The American Liver Foundation is a great place to start for us liver patients and I highly recommend doing so. That being said, I myself have been fortunate enough to have a wonderful support system. I will admit at times you can find yourself picking things apart once you begin to do a reflection on what your “circle” and or support system looks like and who it consists of. You can find yourself asking questions like, “well why hasn’t - asked how I’m doing” or “why do people expect me to keep them in the loop but I have to be one to reach out to them”. I think in a lot of instances you can find yourself taking things too personally. If I can give any advice, it’s that people who care will show they care, the people who love you will show you that. Everyone’s way of expressing that is different and no two are the same and you have to be aware of that. Allow people to support you but be receptive to how they support you, it may not be the way you would like but it’s their way of showing they care. In my years of dealing with this illness I have seen it all, but I can say my circle has changed over the years. Family doesn’t have to be blood related but people who love you like their own. My family spreads much further than my immediate but my love is spread evenly. The love and support they get from me is the exact same as what they give to me. Be supportive of one another, be mindful of one another and most importantly, love one another!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Truth Be Told

How do I know everything is going to be okay, from the beginning all the way till the end? Let me tell you something about faith, it’s...

Life Updates

I know I haven’t posted in a while and I truly felt like things were really just coasting and not much to update on. Then before I knew...

Let’s Roam

As I continue on my path to recovery we are also inching closer to the fundraiser. Amazing donations are being sent our way from all over...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page