top of page
Search
Writer's pictureVictoria Micola

Money Doesn’t Grow on Trees

Updated: Jul 25, 2023


How much does a liver transplant cost in its entirety? Without insurance, the average cost of a liver transplant is $800,000. What is included in the price? Included in the price is your pre transplant examinations and doctors appointments, transplant itself and hospital care, post transplant care and treatment such as medications. The fact that we expect people to afford that is astonishing to me and ridiculous. Obviously there are things to help cover the costs such as insurance and financial aid but it still has out of pocket expenses. The transplant itself has many moving parts that add up quickly; retrieval, preservation and transportation of the organ. Transplantation costs for the patient the day of include; room and board, inpatient care, the surgery, blood transfusion and medications after the patient has received the organ. Needless to say it’s very extensive and expensive.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Truth Be Told

How do I know everything is going to be okay, from the beginning all the way till the end? Let me tell you something about faith, it’s...

Life Updates

I know I haven’t posted in a while and I truly felt like things were really just coasting and not much to update on. Then before I knew...

Let’s Roam

As I continue on my path to recovery we are also inching closer to the fundraiser. Amazing donations are being sent our way from all over...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page